Felony and Misdemeanors

Felony to Simple Misdemeanors

In Iowa, felonies are crimes that are punishable by incarceration in state prison for terms of two years or more. Felonies in Iowa are designated as class “A,” “B,” “C,” or “D.” Iowa is distinct from most other states because in Iowa, misdemeanors (less serious crimes) are punishable by up to two years, rather than one year, in county or local jail.

Class “A” Felony

A class “A” felony is the most serious type of felony, punishable by life imprisonment. (Iowa Code § 902.1.) Sexual assaults that cause serious injury are class “A” felonies.

Class “B” Felony

A class “B” felony is punishable by up to 25 years in prison. (Iowa Code § 902.9.) Possession of between 100 and 1,000 kilograms of marijuana is a class “B” felony.

Class “C” Felony

Class “C” felonies are punishable by a prison term of up to ten years and a fine of $1,000 to $10,000. (Iowa Code § 902.9.) For example, assaults that are intended to and do cause serious injury are punishable as class “C” felonies.

Class “D” Felony

A class “D” felony is punishable by up to five years' imprisonment and a fine of $750 to $7,500. (Iowa Code § 902.9.) Pimping is a class “D” felony.

Fines

Some criminal statutes also impose fines for specific crimes. For example, a court can, in addition to the prison sentence explained above, impose a fine of $5,000 to $100,000 on a person convicted of possession of between 100 and 1,000 kilograms of marijuana. (Iowa Code § 124.401.)

 

Aggravated Misdemeanor

Aggravated misdemeanors are the most serious class of misdemeanors, punishable by up to two years in jail and a fine of $625 to $6,250. (Iowa Code § 903.1.) For example, possession of child pornography is an aggravated misdemeanor.

Serious Misdemeanor

A serious misdemeanor in Iowa is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of between $315 and $1,875.(Iowa Code § 903.1.) For example, assaults (acts that cause pain, fear, or injury) that are hate crimes are punishable as serious misdemeanors.

Simple Misdemeanor

A simple misdemeanor is punishable by: up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of $65 to $625, or both.

Statutes of Limitations

Statutes of limitations set forth time limits for beginning criminal prosecution. The statute of limitations begins to “run” when the crime is committed. Usually, less serious crimes have shorter statutes of limitations

Our Approach

We will work hard to earn your trust and loyalty through our commitment to you and your case, by our work ethic, our experience and resources, our deep commitment to obtain justice and our honest ethical approach.

Menu